Many Anderson-area instructors said they are still following the bill and want to learn more, but they are worried that no longer having mandatory classes for concealed weapons permits could hurt or destroy their business.
Instructors also said they think that removing the requirements will result in more legal gun owners being arrested for unknowingly violating state laws by carrying weapons in places where even permitted carriers are not allowed to have guns.
There are currently 130,918 people with concealed weapon permits in South Carolina. Permits have to be renewed every four years for $50.
Over the four-year period, that amounts to more than $6.5 million in fees.
There are currently 699 certified concealed weapons instructors, who can renew their licenses for $100 every four years, according to the South Carolina Law Enforcement Division, which handles the permitting process. Read more
Recommended Concealed Carry Resources:
Effective Handgun Defense, A Comprehensive Guide to Concealed Carry
Find more resources at gundigeststore.com/tactical
About the Author: Corey Graff is the online editor for gundigest.com. His personal interest in firearms includes handguns for hunting and self-defense as well as guns from the World War II era.
Leave a Reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.